2024 Forge Prize Jury

The Forge Prize Jury consists of world-renowned architecture professionals with decades of experience in practice, research, design, teaching, and publishing. 

Reed Kroloff

The New York Times once described Reed Kroloff, Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture dean and Rowe Family College of Architecture Endowed Chair, as "the man with the list at architecture’s party."

After more than a quarter-century of experience in architecture, urbanism, and design, he knows innovation when he sees it--and this year, he’ll apply that knowledge as a juror for the Forge Prize.

Kroloff developed a perspective on design and the industry from multiple angles. In addition to being a founding principal of jones|kroloff, an advisory practice that develops strategy for clients in the architecture and design industry, he’s a regular media contributor and critic and a former editor in chief of Architecture magazine.

Prior to joining IIT, Kroloff served as director of the Cranbrook Academy of Art and Art Museum in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., and as dean of Tulane University School of Architecture in New Orleans--leading it through Hurricane Katrina and the city's recovery.

Kroloff holds a bachelor of arts from Yale University and a master of architecture from the University of Texas at Austin.

Samantha Flores, AIA

Samantha Flores, AIA, has made a career out of innovation--so it’s only fitting that she join the jury for the Forge Prize. 

She is the vice president and director of the innovation and research team (Hugo) at Corgan. In that role, Flores is responsible for elevating data-driven design around the human experience, examining the various impacts emerging technologies and evolving human behaviors will have on the future user experience and built environment. Her team’s research includes everything from olfactory architecture and how we design with our sense of smell to future lunar development and how we conduct daily routines in extreme environments.

Prior to leading Corgan’s innovation and research efforts, Flores spent six years as an architect in Corgan’s Aviation studio, designing international airports.

Flores received her Bachelor of Architecture from Oklahoma State University and her Masters of Architecture from Princeton University.

Paul Makovsky

Paul Makovsky, editor in chief of ARCHITECT, the journal of the American Institute of Architects, is bringing his unique perspective to the jury for AISC’s 2024 Forge Prize.

Makovsky is a veteran architecture and design journalist. Prior to joining ARCHITECT, he spent two years as editor-in-chief at Contract--and 18 years at Metropolis, where he ended up serving as the vice president of design and editorial and brand director. He also served as the managing editor of 2wice.

Makovsky holds degrees from McGill University and the University of Toronto.